GlutenFacts

Gluten Facts

What is Gluten?

Gluten is the general name for one of the proteins found in wheat, barley, rye. It helps baked goods keep their form and chewy texture and is also added to other food items both for consistency and taste purposes.

Other names for wheat or wheat-containing grains that contain gluten are:

  • Bulgur
  • Durum
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Farina
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut®
  • Spelt
  • Self-rising flour
  • Semolina
  • Triticale
  • Wheat starch
  • Wheat germ

Wheat free does not mean gluten free. Wheat-free foods still may contain rye or barley.

Malt
Malt and malt flavorings are made from barley and are not gluten free.

Buckwheat
Buckwheat, contrary to its name, is not actually wheat and does not contain gluten. Buckwheat is derived from the seeds of a flowering plant. Since it’s a seed not a grain, it is gluten-free.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

existing reviews (0)